Derived maker summary

Tier IIIThe British Bench editorial classificationDerived directory summary — all eligible current families share this published physical tier

Harold Pinchbeck

Independent Lincoln watchmaker building current watches to order in its Exchequer Gate workshop, with named watchmaker Rob Inman responsible for the bench route and every current made-to-order watch regulated before dispatch.

Editorial classification

The British Bench editorial classification

The British Bench records documented facts about where design, development, component manufacture, assembly, regulation, testing, quality control and related work take place, then applies its own editorial provenance methodology to those facts. A tier is an editorial classification only. It does not determine whether a watch, company or claim is legally British or British-made; assess compliance with origin, advertising or consumer-protection rules; certify or approve a product or maker; or measure quality, value, legitimacy or company nationality. A higher tier confers no legal status, certification, approval or endorsement. A lower tier does not mean a less-British company, a worse watch, misconduct or an improper or unlawful origin claim.

Headline decision

Tier III

All 4 current production families share this published tier.

Summary scopeDerived current-production families
Evidence statusShown per physical route
Coverage4 of 4 current families classified
SourcePublished CMS record
  • All 4 current production families share this published tier.
  • Tier III is a directory summary derived from the current family classifications below; it does not transfer a physical tier between watches.

Documented factual findings

What happens within the qualifying territory

Published operations are shown here; the route cards identify how The British Bench interprets them for each physical tier.

Watch assemblyDocumented — attributable published primary source

Current made-to-order watch assembly in Lincoln

All four current regular-production family units are built to order and hand-assembled in Pinchbeck’s Lincoln workshop, with Rob Inman identified as the watchmaker responsible for the bench route.

Lincoln, England — Pinchbeck workshop
RegulationDocumented — attributable published primary source

Current movement regulation before dispatch in Lincoln

Every current Made to Order watch is stated to be regulated before dispatch in the Lincoln workshop; exact post-casing sequencing and corrective-intervention controls remain explicit evidence gaps.

Lincoln, England — Pinchbeck workshop
Final quality controlDocumented — attributable published primary source

Current completed-watch inspection and checking in Lincoln

Pinchbeck publishes a completed-watch cleaning, inspection and checking step before packing and shipment from Lincoln; the exact functional test matrix, pass/fail authority and QC traceability are not publicly stated.

Lincoln, England — Pinchbeck workshop

Documented factual findings

What is made or completed elsewhere

Documented imported components and international specialist work remain visible beside domestic operations.

Movement manufactureDocumented outside the framework’s qualifying territory

Current Swiss ETA 2824-2 movement supply

Current Made to Order watches use Swiss ETA 2824-2 movements; no British movement-manufacture claim is made by this classification.

Switzerland

Route-level decisions

Where the physical classification changes

The maker summary never replaces these model- and collection-level decisions.

Current published routes4 decisions
Tier III

Novum and Sigma current production family

Collection · Provisional — strong evidence with defined gaps

Current made to order

The British Bench’s editorial interpretation

  • Current first-party material identifies a real Lincoln workshop and a named watchmaker, Rob Inman, and states that current watches are built to order and hand-assembled there.
  • The current Made to Order page states that each watch is regulated before dispatch, while the current process places movement testing/regulation at the bench and completed-watch cleaning, inspection and checking before shipment.
  • Earlier first-party route material on still-current products publishes representative movement tolerance and regulation-at-assembly figures and completed-watch testing/certification language, strengthening the Tier III process evidence without resolving the remaining sequence and traceability gaps.
  • The evidence strongly supports a Tier III physical route. Missing post-casing timing, intervention/recheck, release-control and traceability details remain explicit gaps, so the evidence status is Provisional rather than upgraded by inference.
  • Novum and Sigma are separate commercial names but publish the same current 36 mm ETA 2824-2 platform, 10.4 mm case architecture and 28.5 mm flat date-dial route; they count once in maker-summary arithmetic because no materially different production route is established.

International work

  • The movement is Swiss-made. Other principal-component origins are not fully consolidated in the current public material and are not converted into British manufacture claims.

Why the next tier is not met

  • The current watches use Swiss ETA 2824-2 movements and the reviewed evidence does not establish qualifying-territory movement manufacture.
  • Current pages describe machined stainless-steel cases but do not establish where principal case machining occurs or the qualifying starting form used in Britain.
  • British dial painting/printing is documented, but v0.2 does not treat painting or printing a substantially complete imported dial as principal-component manufacture; the reviewed evidence does not establish qualifying dial manufacture from stock or a genuine unfinished blank.
  • First-party material referring to some British-made hands does not establish manufacture of a complete hand set, starting-form depth, or consistent application to a current regular-production family. Tier II is therefore not met on the evidence reviewed.

Evidence gaps

  • Confirm incoming component inspection at the process depth required by Tier III.
  • Confirm the dial-fitting, hand-fitting, casing-up and stem/crown fitting or verification sequence for every current regular-production watch.
  • Confirm explicitly that every completed mechanical watch is timed after final casing against the documented house acceptance tolerance rather than relying on movement-level or “at assembly” regulation wording.
  • Confirm the corrective regulation, defined rework or controlled rejection action when a completed watch is outside tolerance, together with mandatory recheck after intervention.
  • Confirm the completed-watch functional test matrix and final visual/functional pass/fail release step, including authority to reject or rework before dispatch.
  • Confirm whether final QC/release is recorded against each serial number or a controlled production batch.
  • For water-resistant current references, document pressure-test scope, method, test pressure, location and traceability where applicable.

Documented factual findings attached to this route

Documented — attributable published primary sourceCurrent made-to-order watch assembly in Lincoln

All four current regular-production family units are built to order and hand-assembled in Pinchbeck’s Lincoln workshop, with Rob Inman identified as the watchmaker responsible for the bench route.

Lincoln, England — Pinchbeck workshop
Documented — attributable published primary sourceCurrent movement regulation before dispatch in Lincoln

Every current Made to Order watch is stated to be regulated before dispatch in the Lincoln workshop; exact post-casing sequencing and corrective-intervention controls remain explicit evidence gaps.

Lincoln, England — Pinchbeck workshop
Documented — attributable published primary sourceCurrent completed-watch inspection and checking in Lincoln

Pinchbeck publishes a completed-watch cleaning, inspection and checking step before packing and shipment from Lincoln; the exact functional test matrix, pass/fail authority and QC traceability are not publicly stated.

Lincoln, England — Pinchbeck workshop
Documented outside the framework’s qualifying territoryCurrent Swiss ETA 2824-2 movement supply

Current Made to Order watches use Swiss ETA 2824-2 movements; no British movement-manufacture claim is made by this classification.

Switzerland

Identifiable evidence supporting this route

Tier III

Albion current production family

Collection · Provisional — strong evidence with defined gaps

Current made to order

The British Bench’s editorial interpretation

  • Current first-party material identifies a real Lincoln workshop and a named watchmaker, Rob Inman, and states that current watches are built to order and hand-assembled there.
  • The current Made to Order page states that each watch is regulated before dispatch, while the current process places movement testing/regulation at the bench and completed-watch cleaning, inspection and checking before shipment.
  • Earlier first-party route material on still-current products publishes representative movement tolerance and regulation-at-assembly figures and completed-watch testing/certification language, strengthening the Tier III process evidence without resolving the remaining sequence and traceability gaps.
  • The evidence strongly supports a Tier III physical route. Missing post-casing timing, intervention/recheck, release-control and traceability details remain explicit gaps, so the evidence status is Provisional rather than upgraded by inference.
  • Albion and Albion Blue share the current 41 mm ETA 2824-2 platform and two-part Union Jack dial architecture; the Made to Order catalogue presents Albion Blue as an evolution of Albion, so they count once for maker-summary weighting.

International work

  • The movement is Swiss-made. Other principal-component origins are not fully consolidated in the current public material and are not converted into British manufacture claims.

Why the next tier is not met

  • The current watches use Swiss ETA 2824-2 movements and the reviewed evidence does not establish qualifying-territory movement manufacture.
  • Current pages describe machined stainless-steel cases but do not establish where principal case machining occurs or the qualifying starting form used in Britain.
  • British dial painting/printing is documented, but v0.2 does not treat painting or printing a substantially complete imported dial as principal-component manufacture; the reviewed evidence does not establish qualifying dial manufacture from stock or a genuine unfinished blank.
  • First-party material referring to some British-made hands does not establish manufacture of a complete hand set, starting-form depth, or consistent application to a current regular-production family. Tier II is therefore not met on the evidence reviewed.

Evidence gaps

  • Confirm incoming component inspection at the process depth required by Tier III.
  • Confirm the dial-fitting, hand-fitting, casing-up and stem/crown fitting or verification sequence for every current regular-production watch.
  • Confirm explicitly that every completed mechanical watch is timed after final casing against the documented house acceptance tolerance rather than relying on movement-level or “at assembly” regulation wording.
  • Confirm the corrective regulation, defined rework or controlled rejection action when a completed watch is outside tolerance, together with mandatory recheck after intervention.
  • Confirm the completed-watch functional test matrix and final visual/functional pass/fail release step, including authority to reject or rework before dispatch.
  • Confirm whether final QC/release is recorded against each serial number or a controlled production batch.
  • For water-resistant current references, document pressure-test scope, method, test pressure, location and traceability where applicable.

Documented factual findings attached to this route

Documented — attributable published primary sourceCurrent made-to-order watch assembly in Lincoln

All four current regular-production family units are built to order and hand-assembled in Pinchbeck’s Lincoln workshop, with Rob Inman identified as the watchmaker responsible for the bench route.

Lincoln, England — Pinchbeck workshop
Documented — attributable published primary sourceCurrent movement regulation before dispatch in Lincoln

Every current Made to Order watch is stated to be regulated before dispatch in the Lincoln workshop; exact post-casing sequencing and corrective-intervention controls remain explicit evidence gaps.

Lincoln, England — Pinchbeck workshop
Documented — attributable published primary sourceCurrent completed-watch inspection and checking in Lincoln

Pinchbeck publishes a completed-watch cleaning, inspection and checking step before packing and shipment from Lincoln; the exact functional test matrix, pass/fail authority and QC traceability are not publicly stated.

Lincoln, England — Pinchbeck workshop
Documented outside the framework’s qualifying territoryCurrent Swiss ETA 2824-2 movement supply

Current Made to Order watches use Swiss ETA 2824-2 movements; no British movement-manufacture claim is made by this classification.

Switzerland

Identifiable evidence supporting this route

Tier III

Lindum Aureate current production family

Collection · Provisional — strong evidence with defined gaps

Current made to order

The British Bench’s editorial interpretation

  • Current first-party material identifies a real Lincoln workshop and a named watchmaker, Rob Inman, and states that current watches are built to order and hand-assembled there.
  • The current Made to Order page states that each watch is regulated before dispatch, while the current process places movement testing/regulation at the bench and completed-watch cleaning, inspection and checking before shipment.
  • Earlier first-party route material on still-current products publishes representative movement tolerance and regulation-at-assembly figures and completed-watch testing/certification language, strengthening the Tier III process evidence without resolving the remaining sequence and traceability gaps.
  • The evidence strongly supports a Tier III physical route. Missing post-casing timing, intervention/recheck, release-control and traceability details remain explicit gaps, so the evidence status is Provisional rather than upgraded by inference.
  • Lindum Aureate is retained as its own current family unit because its 42 mm architecture and 3D brass-milled dial route are materially distinct from the other current platforms, while the final-watch route remains the shared Lincoln made-to-order process.

International work

  • The movement is Swiss-made. Other principal-component origins are not fully consolidated in the current public material and are not converted into British manufacture claims.

Why the next tier is not met

  • The current watches use Swiss ETA 2824-2 movements and the reviewed evidence does not establish qualifying-territory movement manufacture.
  • Current pages describe machined stainless-steel cases but do not establish where principal case machining occurs or the qualifying starting form used in Britain.
  • British dial painting/printing is documented, but v0.2 does not treat painting or printing a substantially complete imported dial as principal-component manufacture; the reviewed evidence does not establish qualifying dial manufacture from stock or a genuine unfinished blank.
  • First-party material referring to some British-made hands does not establish manufacture of a complete hand set, starting-form depth, or consistent application to a current regular-production family. Tier II is therefore not met on the evidence reviewed.

Evidence gaps

  • Confirm incoming component inspection at the process depth required by Tier III.
  • Confirm the dial-fitting, hand-fitting, casing-up and stem/crown fitting or verification sequence for every current regular-production watch.
  • Confirm explicitly that every completed mechanical watch is timed after final casing against the documented house acceptance tolerance rather than relying on movement-level or “at assembly” regulation wording.
  • Confirm the corrective regulation, defined rework or controlled rejection action when a completed watch is outside tolerance, together with mandatory recheck after intervention.
  • Confirm the completed-watch functional test matrix and final visual/functional pass/fail release step, including authority to reject or rework before dispatch.
  • Confirm whether final QC/release is recorded against each serial number or a controlled production batch.
  • For water-resistant current references, document pressure-test scope, method, test pressure, location and traceability where applicable.

Documented factual findings attached to this route

Documented — attributable published primary sourceCurrent made-to-order watch assembly in Lincoln

All four current regular-production family units are built to order and hand-assembled in Pinchbeck’s Lincoln workshop, with Rob Inman identified as the watchmaker responsible for the bench route.

Lincoln, England — Pinchbeck workshop
Documented — attributable published primary sourceCurrent movement regulation before dispatch in Lincoln

Every current Made to Order watch is stated to be regulated before dispatch in the Lincoln workshop; exact post-casing sequencing and corrective-intervention controls remain explicit evidence gaps.

Lincoln, England — Pinchbeck workshop
Documented — attributable published primary sourceCurrent completed-watch inspection and checking in Lincoln

Pinchbeck publishes a completed-watch cleaning, inspection and checking step before packing and shipment from Lincoln; the exact functional test matrix, pass/fail authority and QC traceability are not publicly stated.

Lincoln, England — Pinchbeck workshop
Documented outside the framework’s qualifying territoryCurrent Swiss ETA 2824-2 movement supply

Current Made to Order watches use Swiss ETA 2824-2 movements; no British movement-manufacture claim is made by this classification.

Switzerland

Identifiable evidence supporting this route

Tier III

Lambeth current production family

Collection · Provisional — strong evidence with defined gaps

Current made to order

The British Bench’s editorial interpretation

  • Current first-party material identifies a real Lincoln workshop and a named watchmaker, Rob Inman, and states that current watches are built to order and hand-assembled there.
  • The current Made to Order page states that each watch is regulated before dispatch, while the current process places movement testing/regulation at the bench and completed-watch cleaning, inspection and checking before shipment.
  • Earlier first-party route material on still-current products publishes representative movement tolerance and regulation-at-assembly figures and completed-watch testing/certification language, strengthening the Tier III process evidence without resolving the remaining sequence and traceability gaps.
  • The evidence strongly supports a Tier III physical route. Missing post-casing timing, intervention/recheck, release-control and traceability details remain explicit gaps, so the evidence status is Provisional rather than upgraded by inference.
  • Lambeth Reach and Lambeth Dark share the current 41 mm ETA 2824-2 platform and Lambeth dial/case route; Dark is treated as a cosmetic/design variation for maker-summary weighting rather than a separate family vote.
  • Representative Lambeth Reach first-party detail states individual English hand assembly, thorough completed-watch inspection/testing and regulation at assembly to approximately ±5 seconds/day.

International work

  • The movement is Swiss-made. Other principal-component origins are not fully consolidated in the current public material and are not converted into British manufacture claims.

Why the next tier is not met

  • The current watches use Swiss ETA 2824-2 movements and the reviewed evidence does not establish qualifying-territory movement manufacture.
  • Current pages describe machined stainless-steel cases but do not establish where principal case machining occurs or the qualifying starting form used in Britain.
  • British dial painting/printing is documented, but v0.2 does not treat painting or printing a substantially complete imported dial as principal-component manufacture; the reviewed evidence does not establish qualifying dial manufacture from stock or a genuine unfinished blank.
  • First-party material referring to some British-made hands does not establish manufacture of a complete hand set, starting-form depth, or consistent application to a current regular-production family. Tier II is therefore not met on the evidence reviewed.

Evidence gaps

  • Confirm incoming component inspection at the process depth required by Tier III.
  • Confirm the dial-fitting, hand-fitting, casing-up and stem/crown fitting or verification sequence for every current regular-production watch.
  • Confirm explicitly that every completed mechanical watch is timed after final casing against the documented house acceptance tolerance rather than relying on movement-level or “at assembly” regulation wording.
  • Confirm the corrective regulation, defined rework or controlled rejection action when a completed watch is outside tolerance, together with mandatory recheck after intervention.
  • Confirm the completed-watch functional test matrix and final visual/functional pass/fail release step, including authority to reject or rework before dispatch.
  • Confirm whether final QC/release is recorded against each serial number or a controlled production batch.
  • For water-resistant current references, document pressure-test scope, method, test pressure, location and traceability where applicable.

Documented factual findings attached to this route

Documented — attributable published primary sourceCurrent made-to-order watch assembly in Lincoln

All four current regular-production family units are built to order and hand-assembled in Pinchbeck’s Lincoln workshop, with Rob Inman identified as the watchmaker responsible for the bench route.

Lincoln, England — Pinchbeck workshop
Documented — attributable published primary sourceCurrent movement regulation before dispatch in Lincoln

Every current Made to Order watch is stated to be regulated before dispatch in the Lincoln workshop; exact post-casing sequencing and corrective-intervention controls remain explicit evidence gaps.

Lincoln, England — Pinchbeck workshop
Documented — attributable published primary sourceCurrent completed-watch inspection and checking in Lincoln

Pinchbeck publishes a completed-watch cleaning, inspection and checking step before packing and shipment from Lincoln; the exact functional test matrix, pass/fail authority and QC traceability are not publicly stated.

Lincoln, England — Pinchbeck workshop
Documented outside the framework’s qualifying territoryCurrent Swiss ETA 2824-2 movement supply

Current Made to Order watches use Swiss ETA 2824-2 movements; no British movement-manufacture claim is made by this classification.

Switzerland

Identifiable evidence supporting this route

Source ledger

What this record rests on

Named public sources and public-safe disclosures of confidential reliance are shown without exposing private evidence. The letter is the methodology evidence band, not a product-quality score.

C
Harold Pinchbeck Albion and Albion Blue — current product route — checked 17 August 2026

Current Albion Blue route uses the same 41 mm ETA 2824-2 platform and two-part Union Jack dial architecture as Albion; the Made to Order catalogue presents Albion Blue as an evolution/design variation of Albion.

Harold Pinchbeck Ltd
C
Harold Pinchbeck Lambeth Reach — detailed route evidence — checked 17 August 2026

Earlier first-party product page for the still-current Lambeth Reach route stating individual hand assembly in an English workshop, thorough completed-watch inspection/testing, Swiss ETA 2824-2 supply, movement tolerance around ±15 seconds/day and regulation at assembly to around ±5 seconds/day.

Harold Pinchbeck Ltd
C
Harold Pinchbeck Lindum Aureate — current product route — checked 17 August 2026

Current Lindum Aureate page identifying a 42 mm made-to-order watch, Swiss ETA 2824-2 movement and a distinct 3D brass-milled dial route while describing the watch as handmade in Lincoln, England.

Harold Pinchbeck Ltd
C
Harold Pinchbeck Novum and Sigma — current shared platform — checked 17 August 2026

Current Sigma and Novum product pages publish the same 36 mm ETA 2824-2 platform, 10.4 mm case architecture and 28.5 mm flat date-dial route; they remain separate commercial names but count once in maker-summary arithmetic because the reviewed evidence does not establish a materially different production route.

Harold Pinchbeck Ltd
C
Harold Pinchbeck — current About and named watchmaker route — checked 17 August 2026

Current first-party About page describing Pinchbeck as a small British watchmaker assembling watches to order in its own Exchequer Gate workshop and naming Rob Inman as the watchmaker through whose hands every completed watch passes.

Harold Pinchbeck Ltd
C
Harold Pinchbeck — current Lincoln build process — checked 17 August 2026

Current first-party process sequence stating that watches are hand-assembled in the historic Lincoln workshop; components are selected and prepared; the movement is tested and regulated; then the watch is cleaned, inspected and checked before packing and shipment from Lincoln.

Harold Pinchbeck Ltd
C
Harold Pinchbeck — current Made to Order catalogue — checked 17 August 2026

Current first-party Made to Order page listing seven regular references, stating that watches are built in the Lincoln workshop and that each watch is regulated before dispatch, while separating Watchmaker’s Specials and bespoke work from the regular collection.

Harold Pinchbeck Ltd
C
Harold Pinchbeck — published British component network — checked 17 August 2026

First-party provenance article stating that design and assembly are carried out in Lincoln and identifying British collaborators including Bedford Dials for hand-painted/printed dials; the article does not establish Tier II starting-form or substantial-transformation depth for a principal component family.

Harold Pinchbeck Ltd
Back to all makers