Derived maker summary

Tier IIThe British Bench editorial classificationDerived directory summary — all eligible current families share this published physical tier

Schofield Watch Company

Independent British watch company carrying out case manufacture and finishing in Britain, using complete imported movements and selected international components, with UK movement preparation, watch assembly, five-position timing and regulation, and Riverside final QC. Obscura and Light are the current regular-production families; Skeptiko is recorded separately as an announced limited route.

Editorial classification

The British Bench editorial classification

The British Bench records documented facts about where design, development, component manufacture, assembly, regulation, testing, quality control and related work take place, then applies its own editorial provenance methodology to those facts. A tier is an editorial classification only. It does not determine whether a watch, company or claim is legally British or British-made; assess compliance with origin, advertising or consumer-protection rules; certify or approve a product or maker; or measure quality, value, legitimacy or company nationality. A higher tier confers no legal status, certification, approval or endorsement. A lower tier does not mean a less-British company, a worse watch, misconduct or an improper or unlawful origin claim.

Headline decision

Tier II

All 2 current production families share this published tier.

Summary scopeDerived current-production families
Evidence statusShown per physical route
Coverage2 of 2 current families classified
SourcePublished CMS record
  • All 2 current production families share this published tier.
  • Tier II is a directory summary derived from the current family classifications below; it does not transfer a physical tier between watches.

Documented factual findings

What happens within the qualifying territory

Published operations are shown here; the route cards identify how The British Bench interprets them for each physical tier.

Movement assembly or finishingDocumented — maker-supplied evidence

UK preparation and rebuilding of complete imported movements

Complete imported movements are stripped, inspected, cleaned or re-oiled as necessary and rebuilt in the UK before assembly; this is recorded as preparation and QC, not movement manufacture.

United Kingdom; watchmaker identity and precise location confidential
Case manufacture or finishingDocumented — maker-supplied evidence

Skeptiko British case manufacture and Riverside finishing

Skeptiko’s announced route uses a case machined in Britain from UK-supplied material and finished at Riverside; the exact starting form remains unitemised.

Britain — precision case engineer and Riverside, Sussex, England
Case manufacture or finishingDocumented — maker-supplied evidence

Light British case manufacture route

Schofield confirms British case manufacture and finishing for Light; the exact starting form and operation-by-operation allocation remain a defined gap.

Britain; Riverside finishing in Sussex, England where applicable
Case manufacture or finishingDocumented — maker-supplied evidence

Obscura Sussex case manufacture from US Damascus stock

Obscura uses raw US Damascus billet/bar that is machined into the recognisable case in Britain, then etched, finished and completed at Riverside in Sussex.

Britain — precision case engineer and Riverside, Sussex, England
Watch assemblyDocumented — maker-supplied evidence

Light UK watch-head assembly

Light is assembled, timed and regulated in the UK and returns to Riverside for final QC and release.

United Kingdom watchmaker; final QC at Riverside, Sussex, England
Watch assemblyDocumented — maker-supplied evidence

Obscura UK watch-head assembly

Obscura is assembled, timed and regulated in the UK and returns to Riverside for final QC and release.

United Kingdom watchmaker; final QC at Riverside, Sussex, England
Timing measurementDocumented — maker-supplied evidence

Five-position completed-watch timing over three to five days

Current Schofield watches receive five-position timing over at least about three days and often five in the UK; no formal numeric house tolerance has been published.

United Kingdom; watchmaker identity and precise location confidential
RegulationDocumented — maker-supplied evidence

Corrective regulation, rebuild and recheck of current watches

A current Schofield watch that is not performing as expected is regulated and rechecked, with strip-and-rebuild work used where an underlying movement fault is found.

United Kingdom; watchmaker identity and precise location confidential
Water-resistance testingDocumented — maker-supplied evidence

Current case-specification pressure testing

Schofield states that nearly all applicable current watches are pressure tested to 200 metres; method, exact model scope and record traceability remain unitemised.

United Kingdom; exact test location confidential or not separately stated
Final quality controlDocumented — maker-supplied evidence

Riverside final visual and functional release QC

Every completed Schofield watch head returns to Riverside for final visual and functional QC by Giles Ellis; a watch that does not pass is corrected or returned to the watchmaker.

Riverside, Sussex, England

Documented factual findings

What is made or completed elsewhere

Documented imported components and international specialist work remain visible beside domestic operations.

Movement manufactureDocumented outside the framework’s qualifying territory

Skeptiko international movement, dial, hands and crystal route

Skeptiko uses a complete Swiss ETA 2824 movement, Swiss dial and hands, and an internationally sourced sapphire crystal with Swiss anti-reflective coating.

Switzerland and other international sources before UK assembly

Route-level decisions

Where the physical classification changes

The maker summary never replaces these model- and collection-level decisions.

Current published routes3 decisions
Tier not assigned

Skeptiko announced route

Collection · Under review

Announced or planned

The British Bench’s editorial interpretation

  • Direct maker evidence identifies a British-machined and Riverside-finished case route, with the established UK movement preparation, assembly, timing, regulation and final-QC process intended to apply.
  • Official material presents Skeptiko publicly and invites enquiries or places on an interest list.

International work

  • Skeptiko uses a complete Swiss ETA 2824 movement, Swiss dial and hands, and an internationally sourced sapphire crystal sent to Switzerland for anti-reflective coating.

Evidence gaps

  • Skeptiko is not present in Schofield’s main in-stock watch catalogue at the review date; current repeatable orderability must be verified before a physical tier is published.
  • The exact case-material starting form and repeatable production allocation must be confirmed when the public model route is live.
  • The model-specific timing, pressure-test and final-QC record should be rechecked against production watches rather than transferred from intended capability alone.

Documented factual findings attached to this route

Documented — maker-supplied evidenceSkeptiko British case manufacture and Riverside finishing

Skeptiko’s announced route uses a case machined in Britain from UK-supplied material and finished at Riverside; the exact starting form remains unitemised.

Britain — precision case engineer and Riverside, Sussex, England
Documented outside the framework’s qualifying territorySkeptiko international movement, dial, hands and crystal route

Skeptiko uses a complete Swiss ETA 2824 movement, Swiss dial and hands, and an internationally sourced sapphire crystal with Swiss anti-reflective coating.

Switzerland and other international sources before UK assembly

Identifiable evidence supporting this route

B
Schofield — direct production-route confirmation — 23 August 2026Schofield Watch Company
C
Schofield Watch Company — Skeptiko announcement and interest listSchofield Watch Company
Tier II

Light field watch

Collection · Provisional — strong evidence with defined gaps

Current and orderable

The British Bench’s editorial interpretation

  • Schofield directly confirms British case manufacture and finishing for the current Light route, although the exact starting form and operation allocation remain unitemised.
  • The complete Japanese Seiko movement is prepared and rebuilt in the UK before the watch is assembled, timed and regulated there.
  • Current Schofield timing uses five positions over at least around three days and often five; an unsatisfactory watch is regulated and rechecked, including strip-and-rebuild work where necessary.
  • The completed watch head returns to Riverside for defined visual and functional final QC and release by Giles Ellis.

International work

  • The standard Light route uses a complete Japanese Seiko movement and internationally sourced dials, hands, crystals and other specialist components.
  • Selected special Light variants receive substantial Riverside dial refinishing, but that model-specific work is not transferred to the standard route and is not treated as manufacture of a dial from a blank.

Why the next tier is not met

  • Tier I is not met because the movement is not substantially manufactured in the qualifying territory and the reviewed Light route does not establish the required additional British principal-component families.

Evidence gaps

  • The exact Light case starting form and operation-by-operation machine-shop/Riverside allocation remain unitemised.
  • Schofield has not historically documented a formal numeric house timing tolerance; the UK watchmaker applies technical judgement across the five-position, three-to-five-day route.
  • The pressure-test method, exact Light production scope and individual test-record traceability were not supplied.
  • The final Riverside pass/fail process is directly documented, but its serial- or controlled-batch-level QC record is not stated.

Documented factual findings attached to this route

Documented — maker-supplied evidenceLight British case manufacture route

Schofield confirms British case manufacture and finishing for Light; the exact starting form and operation-by-operation allocation remain a defined gap.

Britain; Riverside finishing in Sussex, England where applicable
Documented — maker-supplied evidenceLight UK watch-head assembly

Light is assembled, timed and regulated in the UK and returns to Riverside for final QC and release.

United Kingdom watchmaker; final QC at Riverside, Sussex, England
Documented — maker-supplied evidenceUK preparation and rebuilding of complete imported movements

Complete imported movements are stripped, inspected, cleaned or re-oiled as necessary and rebuilt in the UK before assembly; this is recorded as preparation and QC, not movement manufacture.

United Kingdom; watchmaker identity and precise location confidential
Documented — maker-supplied evidenceFive-position completed-watch timing over three to five days

Current Schofield watches receive five-position timing over at least about three days and often five in the UK; no formal numeric house tolerance has been published.

United Kingdom; watchmaker identity and precise location confidential
Documented — maker-supplied evidenceCorrective regulation, rebuild and recheck of current watches

A current Schofield watch that is not performing as expected is regulated and rechecked, with strip-and-rebuild work used where an underlying movement fault is found.

United Kingdom; watchmaker identity and precise location confidential
Documented — maker-supplied evidenceCurrent case-specification pressure testing

Schofield states that nearly all applicable current watches are pressure tested to 200 metres; method, exact model scope and record traceability remain unitemised.

United Kingdom; exact test location confidential or not separately stated
Documented — maker-supplied evidenceRiverside final visual and functional release QC

Every completed Schofield watch head returns to Riverside for final visual and functional QC by Giles Ellis; a watch that does not pass is corrected or returned to the watchmaker.

Riverside, Sussex, England

Identifiable evidence supporting this route

Tier II

Obscura

Collection · Provisional — strong evidence with defined gaps

Current and orderable

The British Bench’s editorial interpretation

  • Obscura begins as raw US Damascus billet/bar which is cut and machined into the recognisable case in Britain, then acid etched, multi-stage finished and completed at Riverside.
  • Its complete Swiss Unitas movement is prepared and rebuilt in the UK before the watch is assembled, timed and regulated there.
  • Current Schofield timing uses five positions over at least around three days and often five; an unsatisfactory watch is regulated and rechecked, including strip-and-rebuild work where necessary.
  • The completed watch head returns to Riverside for defined visual and functional final QC and release by Giles Ellis.

International work

  • The cellular Damascus starting material is supplied as raw billet/bar from the United States.
  • Obscura uses a complete Swiss Unitas movement and Swiss or German dial, hands and other specialist components; UK preparation is not presented as movement manufacture.

Why the next tier is not met

  • Tier I is not met because the movement is not substantially manufactured in the qualifying territory and the reviewed route does not establish the required additional British principal-component families.

Evidence gaps

  • Schofield has not historically documented a formal numeric house timing tolerance; the UK watchmaker applies technical judgement across the five-position, three-to-five-day route.
  • The pressure-test method, exact Obscura production scope and individual test-record traceability were not supplied.
  • The final Riverside pass/fail process is directly documented, but its serial- or controlled-batch-level QC record is not stated.

Documented factual findings attached to this route

Documented — maker-supplied evidenceObscura Sussex case manufacture from US Damascus stock

Obscura uses raw US Damascus billet/bar that is machined into the recognisable case in Britain, then etched, finished and completed at Riverside in Sussex.

Britain — precision case engineer and Riverside, Sussex, England
Documented — maker-supplied evidenceObscura UK watch-head assembly

Obscura is assembled, timed and regulated in the UK and returns to Riverside for final QC and release.

United Kingdom watchmaker; final QC at Riverside, Sussex, England
Documented — maker-supplied evidenceUK preparation and rebuilding of complete imported movements

Complete imported movements are stripped, inspected, cleaned or re-oiled as necessary and rebuilt in the UK before assembly; this is recorded as preparation and QC, not movement manufacture.

United Kingdom; watchmaker identity and precise location confidential
Documented — maker-supplied evidenceFive-position completed-watch timing over three to five days

Current Schofield watches receive five-position timing over at least about three days and often five in the UK; no formal numeric house tolerance has been published.

United Kingdom; watchmaker identity and precise location confidential
Documented — maker-supplied evidenceCorrective regulation, rebuild and recheck of current watches

A current Schofield watch that is not performing as expected is regulated and rechecked, with strip-and-rebuild work used where an underlying movement fault is found.

United Kingdom; watchmaker identity and precise location confidential
Documented — maker-supplied evidenceCurrent case-specification pressure testing

Schofield states that nearly all applicable current watches are pressure tested to 200 metres; method, exact model scope and record traceability remain unitemised.

United Kingdom; exact test location confidential or not separately stated
Documented — maker-supplied evidenceRiverside final visual and functional release QC

Every completed Schofield watch head returns to Riverside for final visual and functional QC by Giles Ellis; a watch that does not pass is corrected or returned to the watchmaker.

Riverside, Sussex, England

Identifiable evidence supporting this route

Source ledger

What this record rests on

Named public sources and public-safe disclosures of confidential reliance are shown without exposing private evidence. The letter is the methodology evidence band, not a product-quality score.

Back to all makers